Sandra, not Sandra=Sahn-druh, not SAN-druh

I think it’s important that as I make my introduction, it’s the same as if we met in person. That would be with me emphasizing how to correctly pronounce my name (see title). 20 years later and I still can’t let my mother live it down.  It hurts my heart a little to correct that overconfident, “Hey, Sandra [San-druh]!” from someone I’ve recently met.  Maybe I should consider putting an accent over the first ‘a’? I mean, it would slow people down, right? They’d take the time to contemplate how to say my name before instantly associating me with sand. Or maybe I should just change my name altogether? The great Miley Cyrus has done it, Charlie Sheen, Tina Fey and even Clay Aiken. Beyoncé would probably be my number one choice. It’s just so fitting.

Now on to boring you even more. I was born in Manhattan. Don’t get excited or ask me what it was like in The Big Apple. I’m from The Little Apple, Manhattan, Kansas. It’s where I consider home. Along with the Midwest I had a run in the Northeast, Pennsylvania to be exact. My family and I enjoyed Pittsburgh back in the ‘90s (Go Steelers!). Unfortunately, Jacksonville, Florida is another place I’ve had to reside (Ugh, the Jags).

Okay, let’s let the past be the past and talk about the future. After graduation (hopefully with a degree in Ad/PR), I’d like to work in the area of music, fashion or magazines, or a combination of all three. If you too love any one of those things, feel free to follow me on Twitter or Pinterest. You’ll find me blabbing about those things in addition to my events for the Campus Activities Board and my articles for CollegeFashionista.

Anyway, I’m one of those people who hates talking about themself so I’ll let this song speak for me.

Leave a Reply

